“Breathe in to protect the back”

Years ago I learned a valuable lesson from a weightlifting instructor. I was doing an exercise called Squats. This exercise involves putting a weighted bar on the shoulders, descending and then ascending. The instructor told me: “When you descend breathe in deeply, expand your abdomen, hold your breathe, and keep your ribs tight.” He went on to explain that this breathing technique results in pushing the diaphragm outward, thus securing the back and entire midsection.

This breathing technique has helped tremendously over the years to protect my back. I use it not just when I exercise, but any time I have something heavy to lift around the house. Prior to learning this breathing technique I used to injure my back frequently. Now I rarely have any problems. Of course, I also do stretching and warm up properly.

Leave a Reply

