Assume it’s “easy until proven difficult”

I saw this phase in a book I am reading1: “easy until proven difficult”

It occurs to me that oftentimes I approach a task assuming that it is complex and difficult. The result is I solve the task in a complex fashion. It is only later that I see how to simplify it. Then, after removing all the complexities that I unnecessarily added, I realize that the task was actually simple. Perhaps if I go into a task assuming that it is “easy until proven difficult” I can bypass adding unnecessary complications.

[1] Logic for Dummies by Mark Zegarelli

Leave a Reply

