MBT/Shape-up shoes and hip pain

18 months ago I purchased a pair of MBT shoes. (“Shape ups” are of the same type).

I wore them pleasurably.

6 months ago I purchased a commercial-quality treadmill and starting walking on it wearing my MBT shoes.

After a week I started to get a pain on one side of my hips. It got progressively worse. It got so bad I had to stop using the treadmill. I layed off for a few weeks and then started back. Shortly thereafter the hip pain resumed. At this point the pain was constant, not just when I walked on the treadmill.

6 weeks ago I switched shoes, to the traditional type of shoe (i.e., not an MBT or Shape up shoe). Immediately my hip started feeling better on and off the treadmill. In a week the hip had no pain. I haven’t worn the MBT shoes since then and have had no hip pain. I am now walking on the treadmill for an hour each day without any hip pain.

Tags: , , , , ,

2 Responses to “MBT/Shape-up shoes and hip pain”

  1. sweetopiagirl Says:

    Reblogged this on inspiredweightloss.

  2. CCH Says:

    I developed hip pain,which the GP said was bursitis, then arthritis, 6 months after starting wearing MBTs. I’ve had it for 18months now, and recently the osteopath suggested Googling MBTs and hip pain. I’ve found so many cases that I’ve decided to try a few months without the MBTs to see if the hip pain goes. It’s a shame, as my back is much better wearing them!

Leave a Reply

