Natural deodorant: Baking Soda versus Apple Cider Vinegar

For the last year I have been using baking soda as my deodorant.

It works pretty well. However, there are two downsides:

1. If I don’t wash it off at the end of the day then my underarm gets a rash.

2. It I do wash it off at the end of the day, the next morning my underarm stinks.

A few weeks ago I read that apple cider vinegar is a good deodorant, so I gave it a try. It works great. The downside is that I smell like apple cider vinegar for about 15 minutes. That’s okay. It has no smell after 15 minutes. The upside is the next morning my underarm doesn’t stink.

Which is a better natural deodorant – baking soda or apple cider vinegar? Answer: apple cider vinegar!

Update: I no longer use apple cider vinegar. It worked for about a month and then stopped working. I think it made my skin too acidic. In any case, I now exclusively use baking soda. It works well. I am very pleased with it.

Update (January 1, 2013): I just got this book, Salt, Lemons, Vinegar, and Baking Soda. It recommends making a deodorant from one part baking soda and one part corn starch. I am going to give that a try. The problem with just baking soda is that it falls off quickly. Perhaps the cornstarch will cause it to adhere a bit more.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

