What time do birds go to bed?

I got a bird feeder for Christmas. (Yea!)

Since hanging it outside I have observed that the birds come to eat at the feeder between roughly 8 am and 4 pm. I infer from that that they are asleep the rest of the time. Is that true?

I got the following message from a friend. It is both amusing and thought-provoking:

OK…but why do you infer that if a bird must be sleeping if it is not eating at your feeder? Might a bird have other activities to do during its waking hours?

And maybe the time a bird comes to your feeder has as much to do with when it is safe/convenient to do so as when the bird is awake/hungry. If I were a bird and I were awake and hungry, I still might avoid your feeder if there was a hungry cat nearby.

And what does it mean for a bird to sleep? Why assume that birds sleep is similar to humans sleep. I have read that birds sleep in short bursts. I have also read that birds can let parts of their brain sleep while other parts of their brain remain active. And I have read that birds can control their brain activity and effectively shut down parts of their brain (“go to sleep”) at will. That would be a pretty neat trick.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

