Read a book or article until it becomes a part of your being

Years ago I read a book which said (paraphrasing): Many people read a book once and then a few months later they have forgotten what they read. Such books have no lasting effect on the reader. The purpose of reading is to gain new knowledge that can be used as a step to gaining still more knowledge. If one has forgotten what was read, one fails to climb the tree of knowledge. One should read a book three or four times, or more. A book should become a part of you.

Recently I have been doing housecleaning and am embarrased by the huge number of books that I own, many of which I have read only small parts of, some I have never even opened. What a shameful waste.

From now on, I will buy fewer books. I will focus on one book until it becomes a part of me. Only then will I move on to the next book.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

