Such deep passion for the work that all else is dull and colorless

I get motivated and charged-up when I hear about people who immerse themselves so deeply in their work (or in their hobby or something), who have great drive and purpose.

Below is one of the world’s top young neurosurgeons talking to his female colleague, who is one of the world’s top neurologists. It is the evening, at the end of a mind-blowingly intense day of surgery. They are talking on the rooftop of the hospital where they both work and they are looking out over the evening city lights:

Every dinner party I’ve ever been to, no matter what the occasion, I’m bored out of my mind. Bored by the normal, bored by the happy, the unhappy couples, bored out of my mind by families. Good, bad, or indifferent.

There’s only one thing that interests me. It’s this [work, surgery]. What is there in a dinner party, a gallery opening, a movie, a novel, a Broadway show, that could compare with the case we had today [brain surgery]. Everything else is dull, without color.

You know what I do when I’m not here? I make time. I eat and I sleep. You know where I live? In the Hotel Mirabella. When I get bored with that I’ll move to a new hotel. No obligations, no strings. Every morning I wake up and the day is there before me. The job, the work, it’s incomparable.

Dr. Ian Bickman
Black Box

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

