In 2016 a billion hours will be wasted watching a screen

A friend of mine recently informed me that he doesn’t watch much TV. And when he does, it is only if there is something on TV that he specifically wants to watch. He never turns on the TV, roaming the channels, looking for something to entertain him.

I thought about that and I agree with my friend’s philosophy. I don’t want to waste my life sitting mindlessly in front of a screen, seeking to be entertained.

Seth Godin wrote that in 2016: We’ll waste more than a billion hours staring at screens. (That’s in total, but for some people, it might feel like an individual number). I don’t want to contribute to that billion hours. My 2016 goal: I will only turn on TV when there is something that I specifically want to watch.

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

