The power of truly listening

For almost three decades, John Francis has been a planet walker, traveling the globe by foot and sail with a silent message of environmental respect. For 17 of those years he didn’t speak a word.

Here’s what he said about listening:

[Before he stopped talking] I used to listen to someone just enough to think I knew what they wanted to say and then I would stop listening because I thought I knew what they were going to say. And then I would start thinking about what I was going to say back to show them that they were wrong or that I could say it better or look how smart I am. Not speaking was a great relief for me because I was able to learn from so many people. People have so much to teach if we listen to each other.

https://www.npr.org/2014/11/21/364688000/why-would-someone-choose-silence-for-17-years

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a comment